Search News Posts

Quantum Theme
  • Home
  • Awards and Prizes
Awards and Prizes

The Hans-Cloos Medal is the senior award presented by IAEG, given to an engineering geologist of outstanding merit in commemoration of the “founder of geomechanics”. The recipient should therefore be a person of international repute who has made a major contribution to engineering geology in his/her written papers or to the development of engineering geology and/or the IAEG in their own area.

The Richard Wolters’ prize specifically recognises meritorious scientific achievement by a younger member of the engineering geology profession (less than 40 years old on January 1st 2010 ) and is awarded to honour Dr. Wolters’ many contributions to international understanding and co-operation.

The Marcel Arnould Medal was formally established at the 2014 IAEG Congress in Turin (IT) in recognition of people of significant repute within the IAEG and who have made a major contribution to the Association.

The regulations for the awarding of the Medal and the Prize are in the by-laws of the statutes of the IAEG (§ E, Awards and Prizes), available on the web site of the association.

The nominator shall provide :

  • a statement of support for the nominee which should not be longer than two single-spaced A4 pages;
  • a copy of the nominee’s curriculum vitae;
  • a list of publications (identifying the three most important papers, for a nominee to Richard-Wolters Prize).

We are expecting you to send us excellent nominations.