The Paul Marinos Distinguished World Tour Lecture is a newly established award by the International Association for Engineering Geology and the Environment (IAEG) to commemorate the contributions in the field of Engineering Geology of the Past President and Honorary President of the Association the late Professor Paul Marinos.

The Hans-Cloos Medal is the senior award presented by IAEG, given to an engineering geologist of outstanding merit in commemoration of the “founder of geomechanics”. The recipient should therefore be a person of international repute who has made a major contribution to engineering geology in his/her written papers or to the development of engineering geology and/or the IAEG in their own area.

The Richard Wolters Prize specifically recognises meritorious scientific achievement by a younger member of the engineering geology profession and is awarded to honour Dr. Wolters’ many contributions to international understanding and co-operation.

The Marcel Arnould Medal was formally established at the 2014 IAEG Congress in Turin (IT) in recognition of people of significant repute within the IAEG and who have made a major contribution to the Association.

The Honorary membership is proposed by the Executive Committee on grounds of exceptional services to the Association.

The Science and Technology Awards of IAEG (STA-IAEG) is aiming at promotion of the development of the engineering geology discipline, the STA-IAEG, awarded biannually, includes two separate prizes: The Academic Achievement Award (AAA) and the Technology Progress Award (TPA).

The regulations for the awarding of the Medal and the Prize are in the by-laws of the statutes of the IAEG (§ E, Awards and Prizes), available on the web site of the association.

The nominator shall provide :

  • a statement of support for the nominee which should not be longer than two single-spaced A4 pages;
  • a copy of the nominee’s curriculum vitae;
  • a list of publications (identifying the three most important papers, for a nominee to Richard Wolters Prize).

We are expecting you to send us excellent nominations.